CUSEC Member State Seismic Advisory Councils Print E-mail

Among the many central United States governmental and non-governmental organizations, state seismic safety advisory boards have proven to be of great value in addressing the shared earthquake hazard. Six out of eight CUSEC member states have a seismic safety advisory board; and although they operate under different names, they each have a common goal to promote greater earthquake awareness and preparedness among the region’s residents.   To learn more about your State Council, contact your State Earthquake Program Manager.  A brief summary of each commission is listed below -

Governor Bill Clinton’s Proclamation in December of 1984 formed the Governor’s Earthquake Advisory Council (AGEAC).  It meets twice a year; the summer meeting, usually in June or July, is held in eastern Arkansas.  The winter meeting is held in Little Rock on the anniversary of the earthquakes that struck between Dec. 16, 1811and February 7, 1812. The careers and professions of its members reflect the Councils’ cross-sectional representation.  These members are volunteers who have provided a great deal of leverage to the Arkansas Department of Emergency Management Earthquake Program. Most contributions have been of no cost to the agency. The members work to achieve seismic and mitigation program implementation in the state.


The Arkansas Pre-Disaster Mitigation Advisory Council (APDMAC) provides the same services to the Pre-Disaster Mitigation Program as the Governor’s Earthquake Advisory Council provides to the Earthquake Program except it addresses all hazards.  The council members include all of the Governor’s Earthquake Advisory Council. It was originally formed to support the Project Impact Program in 1999. 


In recent years the Joint Council meetings have provided a forum for local, state and regional partners to meet and disseminate information on response and recovery planning, resource acquisition; public education and awareness; promotion; mitigation, and research associated with earthquake preparedness in the state and Region. The Joint Council meetings have also provided invaluable information towards the State Hazard Mitigation plan revision.  Council members have provided support in various earthquake awareness activities as well as support of training workshops.

The Illinois Seismic Safety Task Force (SSTF) was created after the April 18, 2008 Mt. Carmel, IL 5.2M earthquake to review the status of preparedness, mitigation and public awareness strategies related to the earthquake hazard in Illinois. 


The Task Force will make recommendations to the Governor on methods to improve the State’s resistance to the impact of a catastrophic earthquake, including but not limited to, forming partnerships, enhancing awareness and enacting legislation.

The Task Force, co-chaired by the Directors of the Illinois Emergency Management Agency and the Illinois Department of Insurance, is composed of individuals from public, private and academic fields, including the Illinois Capital Development Board, Commonwealth Edison, the Illinois Department of Transportation, the American Red Cross,, the Illinois State Geological Survey, the Illinois Insurance Association, the Illinois Municipal League, the Office of the State Fire Marshal, the geology departments at Southern Illinois University and the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Thornton Tomasetti, Underwriters Laboratories Inc., and members of the Illinois General Assembly.

Established in 1984, the Indiana Fire Prevention and Building Safety Commission has proven itself to be an efficient body for adopting fire safety and building codes. This group has written a completely revised version of the state’s fire, building, mechanical, fuel, gas, plumbing, electrical, swimming pool and 1 and 2 family dwelling codes. With the combination of the 2006 International Building Code (IBC) and Indiana’s amendments, the commission successfully created the 2008 Indiana Building Code.

In 1990 the Kentucky General Assembly created the Earthquake Commission (HR 303, SR 193) and charged it with alerting local officials and the public to earthquake hazards and providing them with earth- quake preparedness information.  After several years in operation, the Commission is currently dormant and re-assessing their objectives. 

    The Missouri Seismic Safety Commission was created under state statute in 1993.  The MSSC initiates, with the assistance and participation of other state, federal and local government agencies, a comprehensive program to prepare the state for responding to a major earthquake. The program was implemented in order to result in specific tools or products to be used by governments in responding to an earthquake, such as educational materials for citizens.  The Commission issued its initial Strategic Plan Report on earthquake safety in Missouri in 1997.  This plan was updated and a new report was released in 2007.


    By statute, the Commission must meet at least twice annually. The Governor appoints 15 of the 17 members for four-year terms.  Those members can come from these professional areas: architecture, planning, fire protection, public utilities, electrical engineering, mechanical engineering, structural engineering, soils engineering, geology, seismology, local government, insurance, business, the American Red Cross, emergency management, and public education.  The other two members are from the Missouri Senate and House of Representatives.

    The West Tennessee Seismic Safety Commission (WTSSC) has been tasked to initiate, with the assistance of state, federal, and local government agencies, a comprehensive program to prepare the state for responding to a major earthquake. WTSSC is a twelve (12) member board appointed as follows:  two (2) members chosen by the Speaker of the House of Representatives, two (2) members chosen by the Speaker of the Senate and eight (8) members appointed by the governor.  The WTSSC represent the following professional areas: architecture, fire protection, public utilities, engineering, geology or seismology, local government, insurance, business, emergency health services, nonprofit emergency assistance, local education and emergency management.


    The West Tennessee Seismic Safety Commission (WTSSC) was created through the Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 58, Section 4. The Center for Earthquake Research and Information (CERI) at the University of Memphis (created by Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 49-8-602) is authorized and directed to provide any information or services requested by the commission to achieve its goals.  Commission meetings are scheduled on a quarterly basis.